Bruce Lee: The Big Boss (revised)

ASM 048

im Vertrieb von / distributed by:
Indigo

LP 20118-1

CD 20118-2

Erscheinungsdatum / date of release: 27. November 2020

Peter Thomas Sound Orchester

Bruce Lee: The Big Boss (revised)

Bruce Lee‘s very first epic The Big Boss (aka The Fists of Fury) is the film that skyrocketed his career. It was premiered in Hong Kong in 1971; its international success, however, did not begin until 1973.

Convinced that the original Chinese score would be a far cry from European conventions and thus way to oriental for sensible ears of Westerners, the German film distributor hired Peter Thomas to compose an entirely new soundtrack. And thus, history was made: From then on, with the exception of China, it was this new soundtrack that scored the film worldwide, becoming the „proper“ music of The Big Boss in no time.

A lot has happened since this very special soundtrack was released for the first time back in 2010. Consequently, an improved re-release was long overdue. Thorough forays into the depth of Peter Thomas‘ archives unearthed four long lost tracks and one longer version of one of the film’s pivotal compositions. Both replace the former edition’s bonus tracks that once were originally created for the movie but never made it onto the actual score.

Tragically , in the midst of production, Peter Thomas passed away on May 17th, 2020 in Lugano, Switzerland, aged 94. This album is dedicated to him as well as to the memory of Bruce Lee who would have turned 80 on November 27th, 2020.


Illustrations on the LP’s gatefold cover as well as on the digipack CD version are courtesy of the ingenious talents of Adrian Keindorf. The LP comes as 180g standard black vinyl and a transparent red edition, limited to 300 copies.


BEISPIELE / SAMPLES

  1. Play Big Boss Theme 02:18
  2. Play Hard Drugs 01:48
  3. Play Girl loves Cheng 01:18
  4. Play Revenge & Corruption 01:48
  5. Play China Love 02:40
  6. Play Blood & Dead Friends 02:11
  7. Play The Amulet 03:25
  8. Play Finding the Drugs 01:03
  9. Play Cheng Li and his Friends 01:39
  10. Play The Fist of Fury 02:28
  11. Play Malaparte Sinus 02:55
  12. Play Communication in Hyperspace 01:43
  13. Play EKG 01:40
  14. Play Moontown 03:33
  15. Play Big Boss and his Gang (film version) 00:47
  16. Play Mukuri (Film Version) 01:36
  17. Play Escape From The Camp (Film Version) 01:46
  18. Play The Seduction of Cheng Li 03:11
  19. Play Spindle 01:42
  20. Play Alarm (Film Version) 01:34


siehe auch / see also:

Bruce Lee: The Big Boss (revised)

ASM 048

im Vertrieb von / distributed by:
Indigo

LP 20118-1

CD 20118-2

Erscheinungsdatum / date of release: 27. November 2020

Peter Thomas Sound Orchester

Bruce Lee: The Big Boss (revised)

The Big Boss war Bruce Lees erster großer Film und verschaffte ihm den internationalen Durchbruch. Premiere feierte Regisseur Lo Weis Film 1971 in Hongkong, seinen internationalen Siegeszug trat er aber erst 1973 an.

Der deutsche Verleih glaubte, die originäre chinesische Filmmusik wäre zu weit von den hiesigen Hörgewohnheiten entfernt und beauftragte Peter Thomas, einen eigenen Soundtrack zu komponieren. Dies gelang ihm mit Bravour. Das Resultat war, dass dieser von nun an in der ganzen Welt, mit Ausnahme von China, eingesetzt und somit zur „eigentlichen“ Filmmusik von The Big Boss wurde.

Seit der Erstveröffentlichung dieser außergewöhnlichen Filmmusik im Jahr 2010 hatte sich einiges getan, was eine verbesserte Neuauflage überfällig machte: In Peter Thomas‘ Archiv konnten vier Stücke sowie eine etwas längere Version aus dem Film, die bisher als verschollen galten, gefunden werden. Diese ersetzen nun die Bonustracks der alten CD, die zwar einstmals für den Film komponiert, aber nicht in ihm verwendet wurden.

Leider verstarb Peter Thomas während der Vorbereitungen zu dieser von ihm bis zuletzt mit Eifer unterstützten Produktion am 17. Mai 2020, 94-jährig in Lugano (CH). Ihm ist dieses Album gewidmet. Ebenso Bruce Lee, der am 27. November 2020 achtzig Jahre alt geworden wäre.


Für die Illustration auf dem Gatefold-Cover der LP sowie dem Digipack der CD zeichnet der großartige Adrian Keindorf verantwortlich. Die LP erscheint auf 180g Vinyl standardmäßig in Schwarz und in einer auf 300 LPs limitierten Auflage in transparentem Rot.


BEISPIELE / SAMPLES

  1. Play Big Boss Theme 02:18
  2. Play Hard Drugs 01:48
  3. Play Girl loves Cheng 01:18
  4. Play Revenge & Corruption 01:48
  5. Play China Love 02:40
  6. Play Blood & Dead Friends 02:11
  7. Play The Amulet 03:25
  8. Play Finding the Drugs 01:03
  9. Play Cheng Li and his Friends 01:39
  10. Play The Fist of Fury 02:28
  11. Play Malaparte Sinus 02:55
  12. Play Communication in Hyperspace 01:43
  13. Play EKG 01:40
  14. Play Moontown 03:33
  15. Play Big Boss and his Gang (film version) 00:47
  16. Play Mukuri (Film Version) 01:36
  17. Play Escape From The Camp (Film Version) 01:46
  18. Play The Seduction of Cheng Li 03:11
  19. Play Spindle 01:42
  20. Play Alarm (Film Version) 01:34


siehe auch / see also: